Ascent to Glory

  • Columbia University Press
  • 2020
  • Hardback
  • 384
  • Sproget er ikke defineret
  • Udgave er ikke defineret
  • 9780231184328
0

Gabriel Garcia Marquez's novel One Hundred Years of Solitude seemed destined for obscurity upon its publication in 1967. The little-known author, small publisher, magical style, and setting in a remote Caribbean village were hardly the usual ingredients for success in the literary marketplace. Yet today it ranks among the best-selling books of all time. Translated into dozens of languages, it continues to enter the lives of new readers around the world. How did One Hundred Years of Solitude achieve this unlikely success? And what does its trajectory tell us about how a work of art becomes a classic?

Ascent to Glory is a groundbreaking study of One Hundred Years of Solitude, from the moment Garcia Marquez first had the idea for the novel to its global consecration. Using new documents from the author's archives, Alvaro Santana-Acuna shows how Garcia Marquez wrote the novel, going beyond the many legends that surround it. He unveils the literary ideas and networks that made possible the book's creation and initial success. Santana-Acuna then follows this novel's path in more than seventy countries on five continents and explains how thousands of people and organizations have helped it to become a global classic. Shedding new light on the novel's imagination, production, and reception, Ascent to Glory is an eye-opening book for cultural sociologists and literary historians as well as for fans of Garcia Marquez and One Hundred Years of Solitude.

984,00 kr.