From as early as 1864, Llandudno, in North Wales, was known as 'The Queen of the Welsh Resorts' and today it continues to attract millions of visitors every year. Holidaymakers are drawn here by its glorious setting, framed by the Great Orme and Little Orme headlands, and attractions including two beaches, a Grade II listed pier and its proximity to Snowdonia and the World Heritage town of Conway.
The postcard first appeared in the nineteenth century and became very important to the holiday trade of the town. Millions of cards were sold, which were, in effect, worldwide advertising for the resort. One of Llandudno's interesting people was G. R. Thompson, who had a newsagent's business and became the biggest commissioner and publisher of postcards. He crowned himself 'The Postcard King' and his cards all featured his image on the reverse.
In Llandudno: The Postcard Collection, local author John Lawson-Reay draws on an extensive collection of postcards to provide a colourful chronicle of Llandudno's history. As well as chapters devoted to the promenade and parades, the beach and boats, the Great Orme and the pier, the author also focuses on the town centre and significant buildings, together with the outlying areas. For residents and holidaymakers alike, this is a fascinating and evocative portrait of a favourite seaside resort in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.