Memories of My Melancholy Whores

  • Penguin Books Ltd
  • 2007
  • Paperback
  • 128
  • Sproget er ikke defineret
  • 1
  • 9780141028736

'Memories of My Melancholy Whores' is a powerful novel about a man who so far has never felt love from Nobel Laureate Gabriel Garcia Marquez, author of the 'One Hundred Years of Solitude'. 'The year I turned ninety, I wanted to give myself the gift of a night of wild love with an adolescent virgin.' On the eve of his ninetieth birthday a newspaper columnist in Colombia decides to give himself 'a night of mad love with a virgin adolescent'. But on seeing this beautiful girl he falls deeply under her spell. His love for his 'Delgadina' causes him to recall all the women he has paid to perform acts of love. And so the columnist realises he must chronicle the life of his heart, to offer it freely to the world...'Marquez describes this amorous, sometimes disturbing journey with the grace and vigour of a master storyteller.' ('Daily Mail'). 'Marquez is wonderful on the transformative and redemptive powers of love...storytelling magic.' ('Tatler'). 'Marquez writes in this lyrical, magical language that no-one else can do.' (Salman Rushie).
As one of the pioneers of magic realism and perhaps the most prominent voice of Latin American literature, Gabriel Garcia Marquez has received international recognition for his novels, works of non-fiction and collections of short stories. Those published in translation by Penguin include 'Autumn of the Patriarch', 'Bon Voyage Mr. President', 'Chronicle of a Death Foretold', 'Collected Stories', 'The General in his Labyrinth', 'In Evil Hour', 'Innocent Erendira and Other Stories', 'Leaf Storm', 'Living to Tell the Tale', 'Love in the Time of Cholera', 'News of a Kidnapping', 'No-one Writes to the Colonel', 'Of Love and Other Demons', 'The Story of a Shipwrecked Sailor' and 'Strange Pilgrims'.

119,00 kr.
109,00 kr.