Meyerbeer Libretti

  • Cambridge Scholars Publishing
  • 2013
  • 217
  • eng
  • Udgave er ikke defineret
  • 9781443846967

Giacomo Meyerbeer, one of the most important and influential opera composers of the nineteenth century, enjoyed a fame during his lifetime hardly rivalled by any of his contemporaries. This ten volume set provides in one collection all the operatic texts set by Meyerbeer in his career. The texts offer the most complete versions available. Each libretto is translated into modern English by Richard Arsenty; and each work is introduced by Robert Letellier. In this comprehensive edition of Meyerbeer's libretti, the original text and its translation are placed on facing pages for ease of use. The first volume presents Meyerbeer's first three youthful operas, all of them German Singspiele: the grandiose Biblical drama of Jephthah and his fated daughter (Jephtas Geluebde, 1812), the colourful Arabian Nights tale of the man who becomes caliph for a day (Wirt und Gast, 1813), and a popular celebration of Prussian victory in the War of Liberation (Das Brandenburger Tor, 1814).