You Will Pay

Af Jackson & Lisa
  • Zebra Books
  • 2018
  • 560
  • eng
  • Udgave er ikke defineret
  • 9781420136012
0

In a fast-paced, brilliantly twisted novel of suspense from #1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jackson, the deadly secrets of a long-ago summer stir to life once more.It starts as a prank-a way to blow off steam after a long summer at Camp Horseshoe. Among the teen counselors, tensions and hormones are running high. No wonder the others agree when Jo-Beth Chancellor suggests they scare Monica O'Neal a little . . . or a lot. Monica has it coming, and no one will really get hurt. What could go wrong?Everything.Twenty years later, Lucas Dalton, a senior detective with the sheriff's department, is investigating the discovery of human remains in a cavern at what used to be Camp Horseshoe. Lucas knows the spot well. His father, a preacher, ran the camp, and Lucas worked there that infamous summer when two girls went missing. No one knows what happened to either of them, though with a dangerous convict on the loose, gossip was rife that they may have been kidnapped, or worse.For Lucas, the case is personal-perhaps too much so. But it's time to uncover the whole truth at last. That's why seven former female counselors are coming back to the small Oregon town-among them, Bernadette Alsace, the woman Lucas has never forgotten. Each one knows something about that terrible night. Each promised not to tell. And as they reunite, a new horror unfolds. First come texts containing a personal memento and a simple, terrifying message: YOU WILL PAY. Then, the murders begin.It started years ago. But it will end here-as a web of lust, greed, and betrayal is untangled to reveal a killer waiting to enact the perfect revenge.OUTSTANDING PRAISE FOR THE NOVELS OF LISA JACKSONAFTER SHE'S GONE&quote;Jackson generates near-constant suspense, weaving together disparate plot turns, directing a large cast of characters, and playing up movie-star egos and show-biz gossip to give the novel a vintage Hollywood feel.&quote; --BooklistNEVER DIE ALONE&quote;Jackson definitely knows how to keep readers riveted.&quote; --Mystery SceneCLOSE TO HOME&quote;Jackson definitely knows how to jangle readers' nerves...Close to Home is perfect for readers of Joy Fielding or fans of Mary Higgins Clark.&quote; --BooklistTELL ME&quote;Absolutely tension filled...Jackson is on top of her game.&quote; --Suspense MagazineYOU DON'T WANT TO KNOW&quote;Lisa Jackson shows yet again why she is one of the best at romantic suspense. A pure nail biter.&quote; --Harlan Coben, # 1 New York Times bestselling author&quote;Shiveringly good suspense!&quote; --Lisa Gardner, New York Times bestselling authorWITHOUT MERCY&quote;Her latest whodunit hits all the marks, taking readers on a nail-biting roller-coaster ride.&quote; --Library Journal&quote;A juicy creep-a-thon...builds to a surprising cliffhanger ending.&quote; --Publishers Weekly (starred review)